Shadow Lands – Part One

Hebrews 8:4-5 (ESV) Now if he were on earth, he would not be a priest at all, since there are priests who offer gifts according to the law. 5They serve a copy and shadow of the heavenly things.

Colossians 2:16-18 (ESV) Therefore let no one pass judgment on you in questions of food and drink, or with regard to a festival or a new moon or a Sabbath. 17These are a shadow of the things to come, but the substance belongs to Christ.

As I read these scriptures I am amazed at these profound phrases “shadow of the things to come” and “a copy and shadow of the heavenly things

When I stop to think about the meaning of these verses I cannot help to wonder what other things are copies and shadows of things to come? I don’t want to read into these verses, and I am not by any means injecting what is not there.

I am just wondering…


I wonder if the evil and war that we see in the world today is just a copy and a shadow of a greater spiritual evil and warfare that is happening in the heavens.

I wonder if these evil spiritual forces have declared a war upon humanity.

I wonder if this is just a precursor of a greater evil to come.

If the evil that we are seeing today is just a copy and a shadow of a greater spiritual evil, then I think we better start praying to a greater degree than we ever have before.

Leave a Reply

