Birthday just passed

My wife and son could not decided what to get me for my birthday, so they left it up to me.  The problem is that I could not decided either.  Finally I decided to order the Holman Legacy Ultrathin Reference Bible Large (supple flexible genuine leather). It is not much larger than my current HCSB leather bible, and the font is 10.5 just slightly larger than my current one.

The reason why I could not decide on this is because the HCSB is going to be revised sometime next year.  However, considering the price ($63.00), it was difficult to pass on.  And I am not really happy with my current genuine leather HCSB ultra thin bible that I use.  It is just too glossy / flashy.  Excellent binding, and it has a lifetime warranty.

The sad part is that just prior to making the choice as using the HCSB as my primary study/reading bible I had purchased the premium ESV Thinline bible, which I am not using that much.  Oh well I do love collecting bibles, but I don’t like to pay the premium price for them, genuine leather is good enough for this purpose.  Maybe I will give to my son.

The other reason I held off is because I had purchased the HCSB Ministers Bible, single column.  The leather is nice, the single column is great, really love the look and feel, but it is just to thick for me to carry around.  I took it to church several times, and I was not comfortable with it’s size.  It is bulky, heavy, and I think the pages are a bit to thin, considering it’s size.  It’s a good reading bible for home but that’s about it for me.  It’s like the size of a study bible but it has no notes, however it is advertise as a wide margin bible, but it is not as wide as other wide-margin bibles.

My ideal bible would be a single column ultra-thin high premium leather bible.  Maybe in 2009 for my birthday HCSB will release the revised version, and issue one like this, and then I’ll buy that as well.

2 Responses

  1. Happy belated birthday! 🙂

  2. I’ll be curious to get your thoughts on this one – you may remember that I reviewed the regular bonded leather edition (non Legacy) back in January.

Leave a Reply

