HCSB Collection

I took these photos a while back in anticipation that I would post my remarks on the set of Holman Christian Standard Bibles (CSB) that I have acquired. Since I have been a bit on the quiet side I thought I would go ahead and post the photos, and remarks.

I own a total of total of 4 different sizes of the CSB bible. Why? Because once I enjoy a certain translation I tend to like to have different sizes for different reasons. Also growing up as a Christian, I could only afford hard back bibles, and usually only one per translations. Now that I can afford more than one, I buy what I want within reason.

First thing to mention about all of the bibles listed here. They are all sewn binding, and not glued. So for those of you that are interested in rebinding, all 3 mention here would be great choices for spending those extra dollars on a quality leather bible rebind.

Second thing to mention is all bonded and genuine leather bibles come with a lifetime guarantee, according to Holman:

Holman leather bibles are guaranteed to last a lifetime. If any Holman bonded or genuine leather Bible is defective or falls apart, Holman will replace it with a comparable Bible free of charge.

My big gripe with Holman is that they DO NOT PUBLISH PHOTOS OF THE BIBLES! They just publish photos of the box – who cares what the box looks like?

Here are the three bibles that I have:
Standard Bible Pocket Size Bible Classic Edition – BritishTan
The pocket size that I own is bonded leather in what they call a British Tan. Overall I really like this one, the font size is easy to read, it’s the right size to carry around, however it is bonded leather which is very smooth, but stiff, and not supple. However, the British Tan looks decent and it is a pleasure to carry around. It has one ribbon, and a side flap.

Holman CSB UltraThin Reference Bible – Black Genuine Leather

I love the overall size of this bible the best, the pages are a good weight and not much bleed through. What I hate the most about this bible is the leather. It is too glossy, very stiff, and the texture of this cow hide is over the top for me. Now this could have been avoided had Holman just published some photos of this bible. Again this is a personal gripe about the leather, some of my actually like very glossy bibles 😉  But had there been some good photos I may have not purchased this one, and bought another one instead.

I remedied this problem by purchasing a custom made leather bible cover. You can read more about that here.

CSB Minister’s Bible

This is the only single column format bible that Holman offers for the CSB. If you like the CSB translation, and you want single column this is your only choice. The pages are a bit on the thin side, the leather is a nice cow hide, a bit thin, but overall nice. Again it is a stiff leather and not supple. It has two ribbons one red and one black. I personally don’t care for the red ribbon and would have preferred two black ribbons. All black letter edition which is a nice plus – I don’t mind red letter editions. This bible is a bit on the bigger size, but you have to judge for yourself.

CSB Legacy Bible

I already posted on this before so you can read the comments there. One thing that has changed is that I have become much more comfortable with the size of this bible. So much so that I don’t even notice the size difference between this one that the Ultrathin. If you use it enough you just get use to the size.

For a complete listing of all the photos go here:

Holman CSB Bible Collection
11 Responses

  1. Don’t you own one more? Are you perchance descriminating against the hardcovers? 😉

  2. Right, well there is that one of course. The HCSB Apologetic Bible. I had taken the photos before B&H had sent me that review copy.

  3. Thanks for sharing the photos, Robert – always good to see these titles “in action”!

  4. Thanks for your review. It made me purchase a HCSB Ministers Bible, and I love it. Hurray for single column black text Bibles!

  5. […] Christian Standard Bible Search for a mediating translation: TNIV vs HCSB vs NAB – a conclusion HCSB Collection HCSB Apologetic Study Bible – Review Holman Legacy CSB […]

  6. […] I own the prior edition which I really like to read.  The fonts are excellent, the spread between the text is nice, and the leather is a good cowhide, but not soft or supple, or flexible in anyway but it is a nice grain matte finish.  I have often thought of sending this one out and having it rebound.  I used mine the other day when I had to speak at a funeral.  You can read a bit more about it here. […]

  7. I can’t seem to access your photos concerning the Legacy. I have the Minister’s Bible and can’t decide between purchasing a Legacy or a new Minister’s Bible and having it rebound.

  8. Adam, try it again. Or just try this link:
    http://picasaweb.google.com/downeyimages/HolmanLegacyHCSBBible?authkey=Gv1sRgCPnnn5mxj-mftwE&feat=directlink

    The Legacy is really nice, top leather. The leather in the Minister’s bible does not compare. There is a cheap version of the Legacy that feels like cardboard, so be careful. So if you do purchase the Legacy, and it does not look like mine, soft and supple then you purchased the wrong one so send it back.

  9. Hey Robert,

    Do you have a picture that shows a comparison of the HCSB ultrathin reference Bible compared to the HCSB Legacy large print? I am curious because I am trying to decide which one to purchase. Is there a difference in thickness?

  10. Do you have an ISBN for the tan pocket Bible? I followedd the link to CBD, and they don’t seem to carry them anymore. I’d be interested in finding it somewhere.
    Thanks!

  11. Also, I can’t seem to access the photos of the pocket edition. Any idea what I’m doing wrong?
    Thanks!

Leave a Reply

